Online sources

Additional Online Sources and Resources

Reference databases
(available from the University of Evansville library website http://libraries.evansville.edu/)

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Dictionary of Music

Libraries and Archives

Bodleian Library, Oxford: www.ouls.ox.ac.uk/bodley

British Library: www.bl.uk

National Library of Ireland:  www.nli.ie

National Library of Scotland: www.nls.uk

National Library of Wales: www.llgc.org.uk 

Sources: Primary and Secondary

British History Online www.british-history.ac.uk (A digital library containing the most important printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.)

First World War Poetry Digital Archive and The Great War Archive: www.oucs.ox.ac.uk/ww1lit

Googlebooks: www.books.google.com

Internet Medieval Sourcebook: www.fordham.edu/halsall/Sbook.html

Internet Modern Sourcebook: www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/modsbook.html

Internet Archive: www.archive.org

Medievalists Net: http:/www.medievalists.net

Old Bailey Online: www.oldbaileyonline.org   (The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913. A searchable edition of texts detailing 197,745 trials held at London’s central criminal court.)

Records of the Parliament of Scotland: www.rps.ac.uk  (A searchable database containing the proceedings of the Scottish parliament from the first surviving act of 1235 to the union of 1707.)

State Papers Online, 1509-1714: http://gale.cengage.co.uk/statepapers

World Digital Library: http://www.wdl.org

Academic Societies

British Society of Eighteenth-Century Studies: www.bsecs.org.uk

Caribbean Studies, Black and Asian History: www.casbah.ac.uk

Council for British Archaeology: www.britarch.ac.uk

Harlaxton Medieval Symposium: www.harlaxton.org.uk

History of Parliament Trust: www.histparl.ac.uk

H-Net (Humanities and Social Sciences Net): www.h-net.org   (Edited lists and associated sites including peer reviewed essays, multimedia and discussion materials.)

Institute of Historical Research: www.history.ac.uk

North American Conference on British Studies: www.nacbs.org

Royal Historical Society: www.royalhistoricalsociety.org

Heritage Organisations

Cadw: www.cadw.wales.gov.uk

English Heritage: www.english-heritage.org.uk

Heritage Ireland: www.heritageireland.ie/en

Historic Scotland: www.historic-scotland.gov.uk

National Trust: www.nationaltrust.org.uk

Museums and Galleries

British Museum: www.britishmuseum.org

Historic Royal Palaces: www.hrp.org.uk (Tower of London, Hampton Court, Kensington Palace, the Banqueting House and Kew Palace.)

Imperial War Museum: www.iwm.org.uk

National Gallery: www.nationalgallery.org.uk

National Portrait Gallery: www.npg.org.uk

Royal Armouries: www.royalarmouries.org (Home to the UK’s collection of arms, armour, & artillery.)

Tate (Tate Britain, Tate Modern, Tate Liverpool, Tate St Ives: The Tate holds the national collection of British art from 1500 and of international modern art): http://www.tate.org.uk

Victoria and Albert Museum: http://www.vam.ac.uk

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s